thd-logo Deutsche Version

Data Protection Declaration for the iLearn (1)Learning Platform

This data protection declaration applies to the following learning platform: iLearn

General

Data protection is both our concern and a statutory obligation. In order to appropriately protect the security of your data when transmitting them, we use relevant encryption methods such as SSL/TLS, and secure technical systems based on state-of-the-art technology. For the websites, we use Javascript as an active component. If you have disabled this function on your browser, you will receive a message to (re-)activate it.

Responsible Body

Technische Hochschule Deggendorf (Deggendorf Institute of Technology, or "TH Deggendorf")
represented by its President Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Peter Sperber
Dieter-Görlitz-Platz 1, 94469 Deggendorf
Phone: 0991/3615-0, Fax: 0991/3615-297
info@th-deg.de

Contact Data of the Officially Appointed Data Protection Officer

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Herbert Fischer
Dieter-Görlitz-Platz 1, 94469 Deggendorf
Phone: 0991/3615153
datenschutz@th-deg.de

Purposes and Legal Bases of Data Processing

We also offer cooperation with other tertiary and educational institutions (Section 16 of the Bavarian Tertiary Education Act, or BayHSchG), the commercial sector and other vocational and professional practitioners (Section 2, Subsection 5, Sentence 2 of the BayHSch) and a platform for teaching, learning and the exchange of views in accordance with Section 55, Subsection 2, Sentence 3 of the BayHSch, Section 3, Subsection 2 of the BayHSch, Section 4, Subsection 1, Sentences 1 and 2 of the Bavarian E-Government Act, or BayEGovG and Section 8, Subsection 1, Sentence 1 of the BayEGovG.
This is the background to the fulfilment of our statutory tasks (Section 6 Subsection 1 (e) of the EU General Data Protection Regulation (EU GDPR). Under certain circumstances you may also use our learning platform or individual elements voluntarily (Section 6 Subsection 6 Subsection 1 (a) of the EU GDPR). We use cookies, log files, profile data and utilisation files in pseudonymised or anonymised form for the purposes of analysis, checking or maintaining our on-line service and guaranteeing network and information security in accordance with Section 6, Subsection 1 of the Bavarian Data Security Act (BayDSG).

Categories of Data 2

Administration and Course Supervision

For administration and course supervision purposes, we have created function identifiers and personal identifiers with access mechanisms and use these to record alterations we make.

Profile Data

Log-in data are required in order to use the platform; for messages we require your email address. You can select your time-zone, country, city or language, upload an image for your profile, add further details to your name and publish further contact information. The data from the standard university account are used as log-in data for members of the Technische Hochschule Deggendorf (students and employees). The content data of the platform are your role, tasks, questions, discussion posts, answers and solutions etc. There is also a comprehensive, freely configurable message system. The lecturer for each course regularly assesses the courses.

Log Files

When you call up these or other internet sites, you send data to our web server via your internet browser. The following data are recorded during a current connection for communicating between your internet browser and our web server:

Cookies

MoodleSession: This cookie is used to log in and display your individual profile Log-In Cookie: This cookie is used for convenience. It stores the log-in name in the web browser. It also remains stored after you log out of iLearn so that your log-in name is already entered the next time you log in. This cookie is not strictly necessary: if it is not stored, it must be re-entered again each time you log in.

Communication

If you wish to raise a matter with us or give us your opinion on the platform by email, the ticket system, post or phone, the information you provide will be processed for the purposes of handling this matter and for any possible supplementary questions and exchange of opinions. To do this, we will always use the same method of communication unless you want to alter this or if a change is absolutely necessary for handling the matter you have raised.

Recipients or Categories of Recipients of Personal Data

To check for plagiarised work in exercises etc., two solutions from the service provider Turnitin LLC were used. The plagiarism detection software Ephorus was deactivated in December 2016 for live operation and we then used Turnitin. This solution was deactivated for live operation in March 2018. Archive data from both systems are still available. In order to check for plagiarised work in exercises, we now use solutions from the provider Turnitin LLC, PlagAware Unternehmergesellschaft or from another provider.
Other IT service providers may also be sent your personal data within the terms of order-processing agreements concluded with us. However, in order to guarantee the security of our data processing systems, we do not disclose the names of our service providers.

Transmitting Personal Data to a Third-Party Country or International Organisations

All our Turnitin service providers are certified under the EU-US Privacy Shield and visible to every person, so that there is a legally appropriate level of protection for personal data:

Duration of Storage of Personal Data

Log Files

Are normally stored as personal data for 365 days.

Administrative Access

Personalised administrative access to our platform is subject to restricted processing after the departure of the member of the TH Deggendorf concerned and is deleted one year after the date on which this person departed.

Profile Data

Profile data for our platform are subject to restricted processing after the departure of the member of TH Deggendorf concerned and are deleted two years after the date this person departed.

Cookies

MoodleSession: This cookie is deleted when the browsing session ends. You can delete the cookies at any time via the settings on your browser.

Communication

Postal communications, emails and messages are deleted six years after the end of the year in which the matter concerned was raised.

Mahara

By using the LMS platform iLearn, you will automatically receive the opportunity to use the integrated ePortfolio system Mahara. No further log-in is required to use Mahara, as the so-called single sign-on procedure is used, which allows you automatic access to the ePortfolio system with your user rights after registering at iLearn. By using Mahara, the following information pertaining to you and stored in iLearn will be linked to your account and stored in Mahara:

Use of the ePortfolio platform Mahara is voluntary

General obligations of the user

Upon registration, the user is granted a simple, non-transferrable right of use for this learning platform. The storage space made available to the user may only be used for storing generated content. All users are obligated to treat data of other users to which they have access as strictly confidential and to refrain from forwarding said data to third parties without the written permission of the respective person. This especially applies to the name and email addresses of other users registered in the system. This learning platform exclusively serves the generation and execution of iLearn courses at the Deggendorf Institute of Technology and the internal communication between learners and instructors. Any other use of the platform, such as for other private and/or commercial purposes, is not permitted. All users are obligated to observe legal regulations, especially those regarding copyright and data protection. If users add links to external internet sites, they must first check to make sure that the linked external website does not contain illegal content

Generally, all users of the platform are prohibited from:

Special obligations for instructors and Manager

Data relevant to examination regulations may not only be stored in iLearn. iLearn does not possess an archive function, but rather, certain participant-related data is allocated to the registered participant. If that participant signs off of the system or is deleted from the central identity management and consequently from the iLearn database due to disenrollment, for example, certain participant-specific data will be lost.

Handling copyright

Material and/or components such as course material, master documents, excerpts from other works, images, etc. that are used in an iLearn course and/or are generated explicitly for a course room may not as a rule be used outside of the course room and/or forwarded to third parties.

This especially applies to teaching and learning material generated by course instructors and to copyrighted contributions that have been made within the course of an iLearn course by participants individually or together.

Transfer to third parties and/or use outside of this iLearn platform of the Deggendorf Institute of Technology is explicitly only permitted with the written permission of the originator. However, all users explicitly declare that they agree that all content posted by them personally, regardless of whether or not said content is subject to copyright laws, may be used for the purposes of the course.

The Deggendorf Institute of Technology reserves the right to definitively delete iLearn courses and all content contained within them one year after the course has ended at the earliest.

Rights of Parties Affected

According to the EU GDPR, you have the following rights:

Obligation to Provide Data

The obligation to provide personal data in accordance with Section 42, Subsection 4 of the Bavarian Tertiary Education Act (BayHSchG), to have work assessed, details submitted electronically and work checked for plagiarism is based on the applicable Study and Examination Regulations. Without such details, a course of study and use of the platform is either impossible or possible only to a very limited extent.

Your respective course lecturers are obliged to evaluate your work in accordance with Section 10, Subsection 2, Sentence 2 of the Bavarian Tertiary Education Act (BayHSchG). Refusal to do so may entail disciplinary consequences, employment contract-related consequences or (other) contractual consequences.

Miscellaneous Matters concerning Our Data Protection Declaration

We reserve the right to occasionally amend this Data Protection Declaration so that it corresponds at all times to the applicable legal requirements or in order to implement changes to our services in the Data Protection Declaration, for example to introduce new services. Your next visit will be governed by the new Data Protection Declaration.

If you have any questions, you can send them by email to: elearning-support@th-deg.de as well as to the Data Protection Officer..

Acceptance

Upon registration and use of iLearn, having been informed of these instructions, you accept the data storage and use as cited. This acceptance can be revoked by the user at will at any time by submitting a corresponding declaration to the administration of iLearn. Upon doing so, your user access to iLearn shall be deleted. For this, please contact the eLearning Competence Centre elearning-support@th-deg.de.

1 Regulatory authorities consider the term "Data Protection Declaration" to be partially misleading. As an alternative, the term "Information for Data Processing and Data Protection" might equally be selected. However, the regulatory authority responsible for Bavarian state tertiary educational institutions has chosen to use the term "Data Protection Declaration" (as at 2 May 2018: https://www.datenschutz-bayern.de/ODSP.htm)

2 According to the wording of Section 13 of the EU GDPR, this is not necessary but the data categories should be named in requests for information.

thd-logo english version

Datenschutzerklärung für die Lernplattform iLearn (1)

Diese Datenschutzerklärung gilt für unseren Lernplattform: iLearn

Allgemeines

Datenschutz ist unser Anliegen und unsere gesetzliche Verpflichtung. Um die Sicherheit Ihrer Daten angemessen bei der Übertragung zu schützen, verwenden wir orientiert am aktuellen Stand der Technik entsprechende Verschlüsselungsverfahren (z. B. SSL/TLS) und gesicherte technische Systeme. Für die Webseiten wird als aktive Komponente Javascript verwendet. Sollten Sie diese Funktion in Ihrem Browser abgestellt haben, erhalten Sie einen entsprechenden Hinweis, die Funktion zu aktivieren.

Verantwortlicher

Technische Hochschule Deggendorf
vertreten durch den Präsidenten Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Peter Sperber
Dieter-Görlitz-Platz 1, 94469 Deggendorf
Telefon: 0991/3615-0, Fax: 0991/3615-297
info@th-deg.de

Kontaktdaten des bestellten behördlichen Datenschutzbeauftragten

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Herbert Fischer
Dieter-Görlitz-Platz 1, 94469 Deggendorf
Telefon: 0991/3615153
datenschutz@th-deg.de

Zwecke und Rechtsgrundlagen der Verarbeitung

Wir bieten auch Kooperation mit anderen Hochschulen und Bildungseinrichtungen, (Art. 16 BayHSchG), Wirtschaft und beruflichen Praxis (Art. 2 Abs. 5 S. 2 BayHSchG) gemäß Art. 55 Abs. 2 S. 3 BayHSchG, Art. 3 Abs. 2 BayHSchG, Art. 4 Abs. 1 S. 1 und 2 BayEGovG, Art. 8 Abs. 1 S. 1 BayEGovG eine Plattform um Lehren, Lernen und Austausch an.
Diese sind der Hintergrund unserer gesetzlichen Aufgabenerfüllung (Art. 6 Abs 1 lit. e DSGVO) unter Umständen nutzen Sie unsere Lernplattform oder einzelne Elemente auch freiwillig (Art. 6 Abs. 6 Abs. 1 lit a) DSGVO). Cookies, Protokolldateien, Profildaten und Nutzungsdateien verwenden wir pseudonymisiert oder anonymisiert für Analysezwecke und zur Prüfung oder Wartung unseres Webdienstes und zur Gewährleistung der Netz- und Informationssicherheit gemäß Art. 6 Abs. 1 BayDSG.

Datenkategorien 2

Administration und Kursbetreuung

Zur Administration und zur Kursbetreuung werden Funktionskennung und persönliche Kennungen mit Zugriffschutzmechanismen angelegt und mit diesen, vorgenommene Änderungen protokolliert.

Profildaten

Zur Nutzung der Plattform werden Logindaten benötigt, für Benachrichtigungen benötigen wir Ihre E-Mail-Adresse, sie können Ihre Zeitzone und Land auswählen und Ihre Stadt angeben, Ihre Sprache, ein Bild für Ihr Profil hochladen, ihren Namen um weitere Details ergänzen und weitergehende Kontaktinformationen veröffentlichen. Als Logindaten für Angehörige der Technischen Hochschule Deggendorf (Studierende und Mitarbeiter) werden die Daten aus dem einheitlichen Hochschulaccount genutzt. Ihre Rolle, Aufgaben, Fragen, Diskussionsbeiträge, Antworten, Lösungen etc. sind die Inhaltsdaten der Plattform. Ferner gibt es ein umfassendes frei konfigurierbares Benachrichtigungssystem. Die jeweilige Kursleitung initiiert regelmäßig eine Bewertung der Kurse.

Protokolldateien

Wenn Sie diese oder andere Internetseiten aufrufen, übermitteln Sie über Ihren Internetbrowser Daten an unseren Webserver. Die folgenden Daten werden während einer laufenden Verbindung zur Kommunikation zwischen Ihrem Internetbrowser und unserem Webserver aufgezeichnet:

Cookies

MoodleSession: Dieses Cookie dient dem Login und dem Ausspielen Ihres individuellen Profils. Anmelde-Cookie: Dieses Cookie dient der Bequemlichkeit, es speichert den Anmeldenamen im Webbrowser. Dieses Cookie bleibt auch nach dem Ausloggen aus dem iLearn erhalten, beim nächsten Login ist der Anmeldename dann bereits eingetragen. Dieses Cookie muss nicht zwingend erlaubt werden, allerdings muss dann bei jedem Login der Anmeldename wieder neu eingegeben werden.

Kommunikation

Wenn Sie uns ein Anliegen oder eine Meinung auf der Plattform, per E-Mail, das Ticketsystem, per Post oder Telefon mitteilen, werden die gemachten Angaben zum Zwecke der Bearbeitung des Anliegens sowie für mögliche Anschlussfragen und zum Meinungsaustausch verarbeitet. Dafür setzen wir immer den gleichen Kommunikationsweg ein, sofern Sie keinen Wechsel wünschen oder ein Wechsel zwingend notwendig ist um Ihr Anliegen bearbeiten zu können.

Empfänger oder Kategorien von Empfängern der personenbezogenen Daten

Zur Prüfung auf Plagiate bei Aufgaben wurden zwei Lösungen des Dienstleisters Turnitin LLC eingesetzt. Die Plagiatserkennung Ephorus wurde 12/2016 für Produktivbetrieb deaktivert, Anschließend wurde Turnitin genutzt, diese Lösung wurde 03/2018 für Produktivbetrieb deaktiviert. Von beiden Systemen sind Archivdaten vorhanden. Zur weiteren Prüfung auf Plagiate bei Aufgaben können Lösungen der Anbieter Turnitin LLC, der PlagAware Unternehmergesellschaft oder eines weiteren Dienstleisters eingesetzt werden.
Auch weitere IT-Dienstleister können im Rahmen der von uns abgeschlossenen Verträge zur Auftragsverarbeitung Empfänger Ihrer personenbezogenen Daten sein. Um die Sicherheit unserer Datenverarbeitungsanlagen zu gewährleisten, legen wir unsere Dienstleister jedoch nicht offen.

Übermittlung von personenbezogenen Daten an ein Drittland oder internationale Organisationen

Alle unsere Dienstleister Turnitin sind unter dem EU-US Privacy Shield und für jede Person einsehbar zertifiziert, sodass ein rechtlich angemessenes Schutzniveau für personenbezogene Daten besteht:

Dauer der Speicherung der personenbezogenen Daten

Protokolldateien

Werden als personenbezogener Daten im Regelfall 365 Tage aufbewahrt.

Administrationszugänge

Personalisierte Administrationszugänge zu unserer Plattform werden nach Ausscheiden des jeweiligen Mitglieds aus der TH Degendort in der Verarbeitung beschränkt und ein Jahr nach Abschluss des Jahres zum Zeitpunkt des Ausscheidens gelöscht.

Profildaten

Profildaten zu unserer Plattform werden nach Ausscheiden des jeweiligen Mitglieds aus der TH Deggendorf in der Verarbeitung beschränkt und zwei Jahre nach Abschluss des Jahres zum Zeitpunkt des Ausscheidens gelöscht.

Cookies

MoodleSession: Dieser Cookie wird beim Beenden des Browsers gelöscht. Sie können die Cookies jederzeit auch über die Einstellungen Ihres Browsers löschen.

Kommunikation

Post, E-Mails und Nachrichten werden 6 Jahre nach Jahresende, in welchem der jeweilige Vorgang liegt, gelöscht.

Mahara

Durch die Nutzung der LMS Plattform iLearn erhalten Sie automatisch die Möglichkeit das integrierte ePortfolio-System Mahara zu nutzen. Für die Nutzung von Mahara ist kein weiterer Log-In nötig, da hier das sog. Single-Sign-On Verfahren zum Einsatz kommt, welches Ihnen erlaubt, nach Anmeldung in iLearn automatisch mit Ihren jeweiligen Benutzerrechten auch das ePortfolio-System zu nutzen. Durch das Benutzen von Mahara werden automatisch die folgenden Ihrer im iLearn hinterlegten Informationen mit Ihrem Account in Mahara verknüpft und gespeichert:

Die Nutzung der e-Portfolio-Plattform Mahara erfolgt auf freiwilliger Basis.

Allgemeine Pflichten der Nutzer

Mit der Registrierung wird dem Nutzer ein einfaches, nicht übertragbares Nutzungsrecht für diese Lernplattform eingeräumt. Dem Nutzer zur Verfügung gestellter Speicherplatz darf ausschließlich zur Abspeicherung der erstellten Inhalte genutzt werden. Alle Nutzer sind verpflichtet, die Ihnen zugänglichen Daten anderer Nutzer streng vertraulich zu behandeln und diese grundsätzlich nicht ohne die schriftliche Einwilligung des Betroffenen an Dritte weiter zu geben. Dies gilt insbesondere für die Namen und E-Mail-Adressen anderer im System registrierter Nutzer. Diese Lernplattform dient ausschließlich der Erstellung und Durchführung von iLearn-Kursen an der TH Deggendorf wie der internen Kommunikation zwischen Lernenden und Lehrenden. Jede anderweitige Nutzung der Plattform, z.B. für sonstige private und/oder gewerbliche Zwecke, ist nicht zulässig. Alle Nutzer sind verpflichtet, die gesetzlichen Bestimmungen, insbesondere die Bestimmungen des Urheberrechts und des Datenschutzes einzuhalten. Wenn Nutzer Links auf externe Internetseiten setzen, müssen sie vorab überprüfen, dass die so verlinkten externen Webseiten keine rechtswidrigen Inhalte haben.

Grundsätzlich ist es allen Nutzern auf der Lernplattform untersagt

Besondere Pflichten für Lehrende und Manager

Prüfungsrechtlich relevante Daten dürfen nicht ausschließlich in iLearn gespeichert werden. iLearn besitzt keine Archivfunktion, sondern bestimmte teilnehmerbezogenen Daten sind dem registrierten Teilnehmer zugeordnet. Meldet dieser sich aus dem System ab oder wird dieser aufgrund von bspw. Exmatrikulation aus dem zentralen Identity Management ergo auch aus der iLearn Datenbank gelöscht, gehen bestimmte teilnehmerbezogene Daten verloren.

Umgang mit Urheberrechten

Urheberrechtlich schutzfähige Werke bzw. Werkteile, wie z.B. Kursmaterialien, Vorlagen, Auszügen aus anderen Werken, Bilder etc., die im iLearn-Kurs verwendet werden und/oder die explizit für einen Kursraum erstellt werden, dürfen grundsätzlich nicht außerhalb des Kursraumes verwendet und/oder an Dritte weitergegeben werden.

Dies gilt insbesondere für Lehr- und Lernmaterialien, die von Kursleitern erstellt wurden und für urheberrechtlich schutzfähige Beiträge, die im Verlauf eines iLearn-Kurses durch Teilnehmer einzeln oder gemeinsam erbracht werden.

Eine Weitergabe an Dritte und/oder eine Verwendung außerhalb dieser iLearn-Plattform der TH Deggendorf ist ausdrücklich nur mit schriftlicher Zustimmung des Urhebers zulässig. Alle Nutzer erklären sich jedoch ausdrücklich damit einverstanden, dass alle von ihnen persönlich erstellten Beiträge, unbeachtlich deren urheberrechtlichen Schutzfähigkeit, für die Zwecke des Kurses genutzt werden dürfen.

Die TH Deggendorf behält sich das Recht vor, iLearn-Kurse und alle darin befindlichen Inhalte frühestens 1 Jahr nach Beendigung des Kurses endgültig zu löschen.

Betroffenenrechte

Nach der Datenschutz-Grundverordnung stehen Ihnen folgende Rechte zu:

Pflicht zur Bereitstellung der Daten

Die Pflicht zur Bereitstellung Ihrer personenbezogen Daten besteht gemäß Art. 42 Abs. 4 BayHSchG und zur der Bewertung von Leistungen, zu den elektronische Abgaben oder Plagiatsprüfung aus den jeweiligen Studien- und Prüfungsordnungen. Ohne Angaben ist ein Studium und Nutzen der Plattform nicht oder nur eingeschränkt möglich.

Die Pflicht der jeweiligen Kursleitung Ihre Kurse evaluieren zu lassen, besteht nach gemäß Art. 10 Abs. 2 S. 2 BayHSchG. Eine Verweigerung kann dienst-, arbeits- oder vertragsrechtliche Konsequenzen nach sich ziehen.

Sonstiges zu unserer Datenschutzerklärung

Wir behalten uns vor, diese Datenschutzerklärung gelegentlich anzupassen, damit diese stets den aktuellen rechtlichen Anforderungen entspricht oder um Änderungen unserer Leistungen in der Datenschutzerklärung umzusetzen, z. B. bei der Einführung neuer Services. Für Ihren erneuten Besuch gilt dann die neue Datenschutzerklärung.

Wenn Sie Fragen haben, können Sie neben den Datenschutzbeauftragen auch eine E-Mail schreiben an: elearning-support@th-deg.de.

Einwilligung

Mit der Registrierung und Nutzung von iLearn geben Sie in Kenntnis dieser Erläuterungen Ihre Einwilligung zu der bezeichneten Datenerhebung und verwendung. Diese Einwilligung ist jederzeit frei widerruflich durch entsprechende Erklärung gegenüber der Administration von iLearn. Damit wird Ihr Nutzungszugang zu iLearn gelöscht. Wenden Sie sich dazu an das Kompetenzzentrum E-Learning elearning-support@th-deg.de.

1 Aufsichtsbehörden halten den Begriff Datenschutzerklärung teilweise für irreführend. Es könnte stattdessen der Begriff „Informationen zu Datenverarbeitung und Datenschutz“ gewählt werden. Jedoch wählt die für bayerische staatliche Hochschulen zuständige Aufsichtsbehörde ebenfalls den Begriff „Datenschutzerklärung“ (Stand 02. Mai 2018: https://www.datenschutz-bayern.de/ODSP.htm)

2 Dies ist zwar nach dem Wortlaut des Artikels 13 DSGVO nicht erforderlich, jedoch wären die Datenkategorien bei einer Auskunftsanfrage zu nennen.